About the Indian Golf Union

The Indian Golf Union came into existence in 1955 when a number of senior golfers realised that the time had come to establish a controlling body for golf in this country. Until then, the Royal Calcutta Golf Club had virtually been the governing body of golf in India, much like the Royal & Ancient golf course of St. Andrews. The objective of the union was to promote and maintain a high standard of golf in the country.

A special honor was accorded to the six leading clubs at that time; The Royal Calcutta Golf Club, The Tollygunge Club, The Bombay Presidency Golf Club, The Delhi Golf Club, The Willingdon Sports Club and the Madras Gymkhana, who were set down in the articles as the founder members.

The first President was Mr AD Vickers, who had worked untiringly to bring the Union into being and was mainly responsible for the preparation of the rules and regulations under which it was to work.

The affairs of the Union are administered by a Council of twelve members; three from each of the four zones and the President working from the Secretariat; consisting of a Secretary.

Amongst its many functions, the IGU conducts a number to tournaments, the most important being the All India Amateur and Indian Open. In 1970 the Indian Open became a part of the Asia Golf circuit and a number of pros came to India to participate. The Indian Open has become a part of the Asian PGA Tour from 1998.

With the formation of the World Amateur Golf Council, the IGU was affiliated to the world body. The Indian Golf Union is also affiliated to the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation since its inception.

To give the top amateurs and professionals instruction and advice, essential to improve playing standards, the IGU has brought in various foreign professionals. George Willard came in 1973, Roger Bacon came for four successive years starting 1974, Douglas Smith in 1977, 1978, Jeffery John in 1982 and Dr Donato Di Ponziano in 1996-1999.

The IGU has not ignored the Indian professional golfers. Before the formation of the Professional Golfers Association of India (PGAI) in 1988, the professional events in the country were organised and conducted by the Indian Golf Union till 1996.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *